The International Association of Forensic Mental Health Services (IAFMHS) was established in 2000 as an international non-profit association, with headquarters in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. The goals of the Association can be broadly defined as follows:

1. To enhance the standards of forensic mental health services in the international community
2. To promote an international dialogue about forensic mental health, in all its aspects, including violence and family violence
3. To promote education, training and research in forensic mental health
4. To inform professional communities and the public about current issues in forensic mental health
5. To promote and utilize advanced technologies in the pursuit of the above goals
6. To form informal and formal liaison with organizations having a similar purpose

A primary part of the Association's mandate is to hold an annual conference, providing an arena for information sharing on the latest research, program development, as well as legal, administrative, and ethical matters. As well, the Association publishes the International Journal of Forensic Mental Health.


Click here for our bylaws.

2022 Annual General Meeting

To read our latest minutes from the Annual General Meeting, click here


Members At-Large 

Ex-Officio Members

Patricia Zapf, Ph.D., Publications Liaison - IAFMHS
Palo Alto University
, Vice President, Continuing & Professional Studies, California, USA

Michael Daffern, Ph.D., Editor - International Journal of Forensic Mental Health
Professor of Clinical Forensic Psychology, Centre for Forensic Behavioural Science, Swinburne University of Technology, Consultant Principal Psychologist, Victorian Institute of Forensic Mental Health (Forensicare), Victoria, Australia

Lillian Bopp, MS, Student Board President
Graduate Student, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Nebraska, USA


Kim Ellen Biesman, Chair, Offenders with Intellectual Disability (The Netherlands)

Peter Braun, Ph.D., Chair, Long-Term Forensic Psychiatric Care (The Netherlands)

Johann Brink, MB ChB, BA Hons, FCPsych(SA) FRCPC, Member-at-Large (Canada)

Gary Chaimowitz, MB, ChB, MBA, FRCP(C), Past Director (Canada)

Adrian Cree, MBBS, Past Director (UK)

Keith Cruise, Ph.D., Past LOC Chair (USA)

Vivienne de Vogel, Ph.D., Past Director (The Netherlands)

Kevin Douglas, Ph.D., Past Director (Canada)

Michael Doyle, Ph.D., Past Director (UK)

Michele Galietta, Ph.D., Member-at-Large (USA)

Emily Glorney, Ph.D., Member-at-Large (USA)

Stephen Hart, Ph.D., Past Director (Canada)

Ed Hitlerman, Ph.D., Past Director (Spain)

Mette Kreis, Ph.D., Representative Young Career Professional (UK)

Brian McKenna, Ph.D., Member-at-Large (New Zealand)

Kaitlyn McLachlan, Ph.D., Past Director (Canada)

Adegboyega Ogunwale FWACP, LL.M, Chair, African Interest (Nigeria)

Suzanne O'Rouke, Ph.D., Member-at-Large (UK)

Stephanie Penney, Ph.D., Chair, RISC-Team (Canada)

Barry Rosenfeld, Ph.D., Past Director (USA)

Lindsay Thomson, MB ChB FRCPsych MPhil MD, Chair, Service Development, Organization, Strategy & Delivery (UK)

Tessa Maguire, Ph.D., Chair, Forensic Mental Health Nursing (Australia)


 2019 - 2021 Anne Crocker, Canada 
 2017 - 2019 Barry Rosenfeld, USA
 2015 - 2017 Michael Doyle, UK
 2013 - 2015 Stephen Hart, Canada
 2011 - 2013 Corine de Ruiter, The Netherlands
 2009 - 2011 Ron Roesch, Canada
 2007 - 2009 Caroline Logan, UK 
 2005 - 2007 John Petrila, USA
 2003 - 2005 Rüdiger Müller-Isberner, Germany
 2001 - 2003 Derek Eaves, First Elected President

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software